Sleepless Nights!

Published March 7, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

I don’t know about anyone else but there are times when my mind just doesn’t shut off…not even in sleep.  Tonight was one of those.

Characters from a book I wrote kept waking me up and telling me I should’ve done this or that.  Sheesh!  Give me a break!  I had enough sleepless nights when I wrote the darned thing.  They wouldn’t leave me alone then either.

That I didn’t mind so much.  If it were characters from my current work in progress keeping me awake tonight I would (probably)welcome the chance to listen and input the info they provide.  Sometimes the scenes acting out in my mind are much better organized than my actual writing. 

I confess…I’m a pantser.  I get an idea in my mind, let it gel and take shape, form characters, conflicts, location, etc, then start writing.  Sometimes, it’s so involved I have to jot things down to remember it all. Works for me!

 I am not an organized person…at least, not anymore.   My oldest son, Chris, once asked me, “What happened to ‘a place for everything and everything in its place’?  I simply replied, “It doesn’t exist anymore.” 

That was years ago and the same is true today.  When I write I conveniently forget there is laundry to do  or dishes that need done.   Those things don’t go away.  Unfortunately, they’re still there waiting when my muse gets stuck and I stand there with my hands in soapy water conjuring up my next scene.  If  people come to visit and don’t like my house during ‘writing cave time’ then I figure they can do one of three things, help clean-up, visit as is or leave.  I simply am not bothered by it anymore.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like a clean house as much as the next guy but life’s too short to kill myself with the mundane when I have stories to tell.  Self, family, writing, cleaning.  Those are my priorities and in that order.  I find if I stay true to myself I have a better chance at a good night’s sleep.

On that happy note, I think I’ll crash for a couple more hours.  With a little luck that pile of dirty dishes will disappear before I awake.  Yeah, right!!!

Leave a Reply

