DST

Published March 14, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Daylight Savings Time is more than just shifting your clocks ahead an hour.  To me it has always signaled the advent of spring.  Here on the east coast it’s a chilly -7 Celsius this morning but the sun is shining brightly and there’s a hint of warmth to it that has the snow melting and should soon have the daffodils and tulips peeking their heads out of the earth.

Spring is a time for rebirth…new starts, new beginnings.  We can’t change what’s gone before but we can strive to make a better future for ourselves, our families, our friends and our planet.  People call me a packrat, and perhaps I am.  I tend to think of it as recycling… doing my part in the war against refuse.   You know, the three R’s… reduce, reuse, recycle.  Much better use than the form R’s I’ve been receiving this past year.  But that’s another story.

My 2 car garage is a testimonial to the fact that unless it’s really of no further use to anyone, it should be kept until needed.  Sadly, there is a community of mice that needed some of it this past winter so I get to sort through and fill up a few garbage bags to set out at the roadside come garbage day.  Maybe I’ll end up with  more than just a walkway through when I’m finished.  Yard sale season is coming upon us and some of it will go then…I hope.  I really do hate to throw anything away.  If there’s someone in need I could give to them and probably supply a full wardrobe.  Not to mention the odds and ends I have out there.

Anyway, the countdown to spring has begun.  One more week until it’s official.  I can hardly wait to begin digging in the dirt.  It’s a great time for thinking up new characters and ideas.  Of course, I really should try to make more of an effort to finish what I have on the go but lately life intrudes on my writing time way too much.  Maybe today I’ll turn off the phone, lock the door, disconnect the internet and get some writing done.  Nah, it’s Sunday.  Company coming.  Until next time, happy writing!

Leave a Reply

