Today’s the Day!

Published April 20, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

The SSE Pitch happens today, noon, ADT.  Silhouette Special Edition is one of my favorite lines and I’m so thrilled to have this chance to present my work to the Senior Editor, Gail Chasan.  Of course, I’m also slightly antsy… nervous, too, mostly due to my fixed wireless modem being unstable at the moment.  I’m second in line to pitch my work and if it shuts down at the wrong time I’m certain to scream or cry or maybe crawl back into bed and bury my head beneath the covers. Keeping fingers crossed that all goes well and results in a request and eventual contract with Harlequin/Silhouette, a dream I’ve had for years.

I’ve not yet completed the manuscript but I have my cheat sheet… a document listing all the key points, main characters, location, goal, motivation, conflict, black moment and, of course, the happily ever after.  This was to be a sweet romance, no elements of suspense or danger, but the characters have spoken and it now has a mystery to solve, which requires a bit of research on my part and that of the characters, but what the hey, if it makes a better story, I’m game.

I’d better sign off for now or I’ll end up rambling on as I try to kill time waiting for my turn to pitch.  I’ll keep you posted on the results.  Wish me luck and happy writing, or reading, whatever you do best.  It’s all good!

Leave a Reply

