New WIP

Published June 8, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Today I finished revisions for Love on the Rocks and emailed it to the editor at Wild Rose Press.  This was my first attempt at writing a romance novel and I’ll be absolutely thrilled if it’s found a home.  Keeping my fingers crossed.

Of course this means I can start another wip that’s been rolling around in my mind for weeks now.  Loving in Lostwood is the title.  I’m thinking of Legends of Lostwood as the series title.  Lostwood is actually a Ghost Town in North Dakota but I’m rebuilding it for my novel.  It’s exciting and something I haven’t tried before.  I’m hoping to have a first draft completed by June 28th to enter the pitch contest for American Romance at eHarlequin.  Barring family emergency or illness, I think it’s doable, even with ongoing renovations in progress.  I’ll have an entire week to edit and tweak it into shape before the actual pitch.  Wish me luck!

4 comments on “New WIP

  • Girl, I love your writing. I just read your new fave lines and had to come running to your blog.

    Your writing captures true emotions, and you’re great at showing rather than telling. These are definately two of your strong points.

    You’re going places. Good for you!

    Don’t give up on Harlequin. They’ll notice your genious soon enough. It would be great if you could get details as to why Harlequin didn’t accept your manuscript. The down size for a big publisher is that they have so much going on, my guess is, that it’s hard for them to give any attention to a newbie (Well, as I’ve read, you’re more advanced than a newbie, but you know what I mean.).

    Be patient and be carefull not to sell yourself short. (-NOT that I have any experience…this is just my understanding from reading blogs.)

    On the plus side, a small publisher may have the time to provide positive insight that will help you improve your writing. (That would be so rewarding!)

    God bless and good luck with all your writing endeavours.

    • Tabitha, thank you for your generous words. Currently, I have a manuscript with SSE and I’m working on one for American Romance now. I’ve learned a lot working with the editors at Wild Rose Press so I know why Hqn rejected my manuscripts. It doesn’t make it any easier to accept but I haven’t let it get me down. This is what I want to do so I’ll keep on keeping on and maybe, someday, I’ll get to hold a book with my name on the cover in my hands. Thanks for dropping by. Lorraine

  • Leave a Reply

