Revise and Resub

Published June 13, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author
Got a revise and resub for Once in this Lifetime from my editor at Wild Rose Press today via email.  Just have to pick up the pace a little partway through the book.  She said she wants to see it in her catalogue.  Yay!
 
Going to finish my work in progress so I can enter the pitch contest for Hqn American Romance then get to work on the revisions.  Wish me luck!
2 comments on “Revise and Resub

  • Good luck. You are a prolific writer. That is awesome. Good for you.

    As a reader, I’d like to know more about the myth or history of the legendary ghost town. Do you think you’ll be able to incorporate any of it?

    At Wild Rose Press, did you sign a contract? What rights are they using? I’m not trying to get into your personal business. I’m just curious to learn about things like this. I’m interested in learning about the business aspect of publishing. As an aside, it must be nice to have an editor give you feedback. I long for the day.

    Take care, Tabitha

  • Hi, Tabitha!
    Thank you for your kind words.
    At one point the town of Lostwood had a population of 130 people. Most of the area around Lostwood are wetlands, now deeded as a Wildlife Refuge for a large assortment of birds and animals. I think it’s a touch ironic that a drought wiped out the town in the 1930’s. The drought and poor crop rotation destroyed the land and turned it into a virtual dustbowl.

    The surrounding fields used to be swarming with Bison when the first settlers arrived, but are now highly populated with white-tailed deer, jack rabbits and the like. There doesn’t seem to be any record of the inhabitants, although I’ve spent hours searching. I did find an article by National Geographic that centered on the northern towns, but Lostwood wasn’t one of them.

    As to Wild Rose Press, they haven’t offered a contract yet, but I’m hoping. She did say she wanted to see it in their catalogue, and according to Dee on the Hqn boards, that’s a terrific compliment coming from an editor.

    The editors there are extremely nice to work with and don’t seem to mind my questions, of which I’ve had a few. lol They have provided fantastic feedback, even on the one book they rejected. I’ve learned a lot and am thankful for the day I decided to submit my work to them. I am working with two different editors there and I have no complaints at all.

    Keep writing, and when you’re ready, submit. It’s a big step but you’ll never know you can do it if you don’t push the send button. Happy days! Lorraine

  • Leave a Reply

