Busy Summer!

Published September 4, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

It’s been a long time between posts this summer, but it has been a busy one with lots of writing and requested revisions, plus I entered a few more contests.  Found out I don’t have the right ‘voice’ for medical stories, but that’s okay.  I have plenty of irons in the fire.  So far it’s all smoke and ashes but I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a sale.

I’ve also been getting an entry ready to send off to the New Voices competition with HM&B.  It starts Sept 6th and there should be plenty of great feedback on the entries.  For those of you not aware of the contest before now, check it out.  The website is: http://www.romanceisnotdead.com/     Good luck!

I sent a query off to Bookstrand Publishing this past week and am waiting to hear back; have an American partial with Hqn in Toronto and 4 novels with Wild Rose Press in Alberta.  Making good use of my time off work so I don’t go completely insane. lol

I’ve also had plenty of company this summer, family (including my precious kids and grandkids) and friends; got away for a few days and attended a couple of outdoor concerts. 

The renovations on my house are now completed and when the hot weather lets up, I’ve major cleaning and sorting to do before I can organize things to my liking.

So for now, I sit in front of my fan and write.  This has to be the hottest summer we’ve had in years.  Temperatures in the 30’s and 40’s Celsius with the humidity factored in.  It’s raining here today as Hurrican Earl makes itself known, so the air is slightly cooler, but that’s a good thing.  The ground is so dry my lawn has patchy brown spots, so this will green everything up again.

Hope everyone has had a great summer!  Drop a line and let me know how yours went.  Talk to you soon.  Lorraine

Leave a Reply

