Autumn

Published October 24, 2010 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

This is my favorite time of year.  Not too hot and not cold enough to run the heating bill up either.  Nature adorns the world around me with such a panorama of color that it’s beautiful to behold.  It’s a joy to go for a walk and be out in the fresh air. 

And I can cook without the kitchen becoming too hot.  I love to bake and am trying to learn to do so with Splenda and whole wheat flour.  Have had a few successful experiments and when my boys and their families are here they don’t seem to notice much difference.  Bonus!

Well, I wasn’t selected among the top ten for the New Voices competition but I did receive some excellent feedback on my chapter from the other entrants.  The competition was fierce.  I didn’t envy the judges.  NV is now down to the finish.  The top four have been selected and we’re waiting on the final entries…the pivitol moment.  Can’t wait to see who wins.  Quite the accomplishment when there were 824 entries.

My submission to Harlequin American resulted in a nice, lengthy rejection letter, but I think I’ve found my niche.  I was so thrilled to finally receive feedback from a Hqn Editor…and a Senior Editor at that! 

She liked the community I created and said there was lots to recommend the story, but some elements of it didn’t quite fit their line.  I’ll use her comments to guide me in writing the next one and hope for the best.

Looking back on my earlier efforts, I realize just how far I’ve progressed as a writer during this past year.  My struggle with point of view was major but, for the most part, it’s now under control.  I now try to ‘show’ instead of ‘tell’ and it’s helped to make the stories much stronger.

On the downside, I’m still off work and the company insurance group has refused my LTD again.  My doctor refuses to let me go back full-time so I’m stuck.  I emailed HR and am waiting to hear what options I may have for PT work.  To work from home would be ideal, but we’ll see. 

Until next time, happy writing,

Lorraine

3 comments on “Autumn

  • Looks like you’ve have a busy. First of all congratulations on the detailed R. I know, R’s should receive a ‘sorry’, but I know getting a detailed R from Harl is like finding gold. I’ve personally only got form Rs from them so far. So I’m kinda envying you right now.

    I’ve been using whole wheat flour for my pancakes and I don’t see any difference in taste. I haven’t tried Splenda, although I’m guessing it won’t make a difference either. It does with tea, though.

    Sorry to read about the job situation. I hope you can work something out – even if parttime. It sucks to be out of a job.

    Keep us posted

    Empi

  • Thanks, Empi! And yes, to have a Harlequin Sr. Editor interested in my work enough to give detailed feedback is worth all the form R’s I’ve received to date.

    I haven’t yet found a sugar substitute that works in hot drinks without leaving an aftertaste. Splenda tastes great on cold cereals though.

  • Leave a Reply

