NaNoWriMo!

Published October 18, 2011 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Two weeks from today signals the start of a month-long writing frenzy. Yep, folks, November is National Novel Writing Month. One full month in which you aim to write 50,000 words. That’s 1667 words per day. You write and write and write without stopping to edit (if you can) until you finish your first draft.

It’s a great motivator! I’ve participated the past two years and have had excellent word counts. Normally, I edit as I go, but during NaNo, I try hard not to… try being the operative word. LOL

So, are you up for NaNoing this year? What will you be writing? Do you have a particular genre you enjoy? Contemporary, Romance, thrillers, young adult? Any ideas as to characters and plot; conflict and resolution?

I’m hoping to finish books 2 and 3 of my Thunder Creek series (contemporary romantic suspense genre) by the end of October as book 4 is calling to me – quite loudly in fact. I haven’t even started it yet, so that would be an excellent NaNo project.

Whatever you decide, if you want to be a writer, then write. That’s the only way you’ll ever reach that goal and fulfill your dream. Happy writing!

4 comments on “NaNoWriMo!

  • Hi, I was searching for NaNoWriMo related posts on WordPress and came across your blog. 🙂
    I’ve done NaNo the past two years and will be doing it this year again as well. This year I’m going to try a post apocalyptic science fiction novel. Last year, I did literary fiction, and the year before historical supernatural fiction. And I’m really looking forward to getting started. 🙂

    • Hi, M!

      Your writing sounds interesting. Have you published any of your previous work? As I said in my post, I write mostly romantic suspense and have had some success. My 2009 NaNo project just released on Oct. 5th and I’m working on sequels now.

      Best of luck with your writing. Maybe we could ‘buddy up’ on NaNo and compare word count and angst this year.

  • Hi Lorraine,
    I loooove writing romance novels. I finish the first two novels, the second novel being my favorite. Like your fourth novel, my third novel is definitely calling me, but I wanted to do a little research first. I’m really excited!

    • Hi, Victoria!

      I have seven completed novels and quite a few more at different stages of completion. Zakia is my favorite so far. I find I learn more with every book I write.

      Are you doing NaNo this year? Finish up that research and gear up for a great old writing frenzy starting Nov. 1st. Have fun!

  • Leave a Reply

