One More Week! Got Your NaNo Project Ready?

Published October 24, 2011 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

I confess!

I really don’t spend a lot of time setting up for NaNo. A pantser all the way, I’m happy to have names, location and the bare bones of an idea or plot when I start writing.

This year, I did manage to put a few words together in a ‘mini synopsis’ for my NaNo site profile. You can read about it Here. I’d also welcome a couple of buddies to share angst and such during the month. 🙂

Right now, I’m busy finishing up Books 2 and 3 of my Thunder Creek series. Can’t write Book 4 until I finish these. Have to know what happens, right? LOL

Zakia and the Cowboy is still a Bestseller at ARE, Bookstrand and Evernight.  http://www.evernightpublishing.com/zakia-and-the-cowboy-by-lorraine-nelson/

His Christmas Wish is doing amazingly well on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/His-Christmas-Wish-ebook/dp/B005V0T88O/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1318554618&sr=1-3

As a writer, I have to write, but it’s so nice to know that people are receiving enjoyment from my words. Thank you all for your support!

6 comments on “One More Week! Got Your NaNo Project Ready?

    • Hi, Limebirdbeth! Welcome!

      The powers that be at NaNoWriMo advocate that you write. That’s it! No editing or research during the month, just write. Of course, I have this mini editor inside that hates typos, so I’m always backtracking and fixing things. I’m going to try not to do that this year.

      The novel that I’ll be working on is the 4th in a series, so I have the location and secondary characters already. I’ve touched on the main characters in previous books, but nothing in depth.

      It would help if you ‘know’ your hero and heroine ahead of time. How old are they? Height? Weight? Build? Hair color? Eye color? Demanding or gentle? Maybe both? Job? Is she vulnerable or feisty? Virgin or no? All these things make you pause in your writing, sometimes having to look back for the details, which is non-productive.

      What is the hero’s goal? His motivation? What type of conflict does he need to overcome to find love? Same for your heroine.
      What genre are you writing? Romance? Sweet? Inspirational? Suspense? Erotic?
      Is it modern day – contemporary? Or Historical?
      Know your location. Again, having to research during NaNo takes away from the productivity.

      All that said, NaNoWriMo is a fun writing experience. If I run across something in dire need of research (usually I can fudge it! lol) I mark an # and leave a brief note. ie: # menu details

      I hope this helps. If you have any other questions, I’d be happy to pass on what I’ve learned.
      Above all, Happy Writing!

  • Leave a Reply

