Spotlight on Alyssa Fox

Published January 19, 2012 by Lorraine Nelson - Author
Today it is my pleasure to introduce Alyssa Fox, author of the bestselling Bound to Protect, newly released from Evernight Publishing. Welcome, Alyssa!
 

Alyssa Fox – Bio

Alyssa didn’t start off wanting to write for a living. She wanted to be a nurse at first, but then it turned into being a mom. Being at home with four small children, she needed an outlet. Alyssa started out writing a YA book, but it took a bad turn, and that’s when she found her genre with smoking hot sex scenes.Alyssa now resides in the beautiful mountains of southern West Virginia with her loving husband and four wonderful children who put up with her writing craziness. They have been shushed more than once so she could write down something a character was saying.As a stay at home mom and the family taxi driver, she still finds time to write about the alpha heroes and strong-willed heroines who keep her imagination running wild.

What decided you on writing?

I used to write some in high school, but I got married and pushed it to the side. Then two years ago while we had a snow storm going on outside I picked up the pen again and started writing. I’ve not looked back since.

How do you find time to write with four kids?

Well, they are in school during the day, so I write then. If I need to do any writing on the weekends due to edits and such, my husband is very supportive, and will let me sneak away to work. I’ve been known to sit in the living room on my laptop with the family and write as we watch TV.

You write erotic romance. Correct?

Yes!

Why are you drawn to this type of story?

I love the plot lines and chemistry that come off the pages in these books. Yes, there’s hot sex in there, but the plot lines are also very strong and carry the book. Also, the sex is woven into the plot, so you get to see the couple grow in every way together, sexually, emotionally and physically.

Where do the ideas come from?

Everywhere! It can come from a song, something someone says to me.

What comes first, names of H/h, location or plot?

It all depends on the book. Sometimes the characters come to me first and sometimes the plot. In Bound To Protect, the characters came to me first because they’re in my first book Road to Recovery. While writing that book I thought what if these two got together, and I kept going with questions until I had their conflicts and such.

Are you a plotter or pantser?

I’m a plotter who used to be a panster, and now I wouldn’t go back. I’m a very detailed plotter too. I have a story board that I fill out all the way before starting a book. I also have to know most everything about my characters before beginning.

What is your typical writing day/night?

I get up early to get the kids ready for school. Once they leave around 8am,  I get cleaning done for the day and by 10 am, I’m ready to sit down and work. I check my email, do any promo stuff or blogging that needs to be done. I try and schedule my blogs to post, early morning, but sometimes they don’t post and I have to go in and do it. I write the rest of the day until I have to get the oldest daughter from school around 2:30. If need be and I have to write later I do that around 8pm.

Do you ever have trouble getting into the ‘writing zone’?

Only time I’ve had that trouble is when I’ve tried to write in the wrong genre, or I just turned in edits or a book.

My characters ‘speak’ to me as I write their story. Do yours? If so, what’s it like to have him/her breathing down your neck? 

Yes, mine talk to me too. Well, my men are a pain in the butt at times. They are very alpha and therefore, very demanding. Like right now a character is yelling at me for not writing on his book and doing this interview, but I told him to behave or I’ll torture him even more.

 My heroines are pretty easy to deal with, but they can be just as demanding as the men.

Is Hubby supportive of your writing career?

Yes, my husband is very supportive. He tells everyone what I do and promotes me to his friends. Does he help with the ‘hands on’ research? Yes he sure does.  🙂

If you had to describe yourself, what three words best suit you?

Shy, opinionated, kind

If someone else described you, what three words would they use? *evil grin*

Kind, funny, loving

Favorites:

Author? Do I have to pick just one? LOL! Nora Roberts, Maya Banks, Shayla Black are just to name a few.

Book? Any romance book

Car? Sports car

Color? purple

Desktop or Laptop? Laptop

Dessert? Anything chocolate!

Holiday? Christmas

Movie? The Notebook or anything with romance and comedy

Pen or Pencil? pen

Penis size? Oops! LMAO!

Shopping or Baking? Shopping

Vacation Spot? On a beach somewhere

Here in Canada, the changing seasons would be different than what you’d experience in West Virginia? In fact, it’s freezing cold right now.

Not too different, it’s freezing cold right now with snow.  

What is your favorite season?

Summer

Why?

I love when it’s hot outside, and you can play outside all day and into the night. Also it’s baseball season!

Do you think you’ll try your hand at different genres in the future?  If so, which ones?

Yes. Contemporary and I want to give paranormal a try when I get a chance.

What pearls of wisdom would you like to impart to aspiring writers?

Don’t give up. Keep writing even if you get rejections. Take what the editor or agents tell you and use that to make your next book shine. Also, never apologize for what you write—ever!

 

Bound to Protect  just released through Evernight Publishing and is already and All Romance eBooks bestseller.

Congratulations! 

I love the cover!

Thanks! I love the cover as well. The cover artist did a great job at capturing some things in the book in that cover.

 

What prompted you to write this story?

Well, Chad and Katie were in my debut book as a small role, and I fell in love with them, so I decided to give them their own book. I saw chemistry between them in one scene in that book that I left out of the book.  

How long did it take?  

It took me two months to write the book.

What characteristics/personality traits make your hero and heroine memorable?

Wow, that’s a hard question because each of my characters are so different. Chad, I love how he knows without a doubt that he wants Katie and will protect her with everything that he has. He’s very loyal. Katie, she’s scared to trust anyone, but her brothers and I love how Chad knocks her off her butt, and makes her feels things she’d buried long ago. He challenges her to think outside of the box.

Can you share the blurb?

Yes of course!

Blurb:

When Katie’s past comes back to haunt her, can she trust Chad enough, or will it be too late?

Katie Thomas has been living a secret life for four years to keep safe. All of that is about to come to a crashing halt when the ex who tried to kill her shows up again. She’s scared and not sure what to do, until she moves next door to fellow doctor, Chad Davis. He’s the last person she wants to live next door to, but one sizzling night together has her yearning for more. The only thing that stands in her way is what he wants in and out of the bedroom; it’s a threat to everything she’s ever believed.

Can he help Katie unlock her hidden desires and show her that this is more than a fling for him?

Chad Davis has always had a thing for the sexy doctor. Assigned to protect Katie, he is determined to bring down her ex to help him get on with his life, finally. His reasons are personal, but one sizzling night together in his bed is all it takes for his priorities to shift. He is not giving her up, no matter how much she insists she is not right for him.

 Excerpt:

The moans coming from Katie just about did him in. Chad lowered her onto the bed and the grip of her arms around his neck tightened. For a moment, she pulled away from the kiss.

“I’ve got you. I won’t drop you.”

A smile crossed her face and made his heart grip tighter against his chest. He was going to enjoy teaching her to be submissive.

“Take your shirt off,” he said with a gruff voice.

“What?”

“You heard what I said.” She stiffened and pulled her legs against her chest. Chad stifled a curse. He had to get his dominant side in check if he was going to reach her. He couldn’t go all “hard-ass” on her the first time. What she needed right now was reassurance that she was safe enough with him to truly let go.

“You’re not going to take it off?” Uncertainty laced her voice. .

“If I wanted to take it off of you, I would have.” Kneeling on the bed beside her, Chad promised himself to go as slowly as she needed. His gut told him she wanted this even if she wasn’t sure how it worked. It was part of his job to show her what her body wanted, needed and craved deep down inside. “If you didn’t have a fantasy about this, you wouldn’t have books on BDSM. Let me show you what your body secretly craves.”

“I’m not a helpless bimbo that needs to be told what to do to get off,” she spit back.

He hardly kept his laugh inside. She still wanted to fight what he knew her body wanted, but her independent streak was woven so deeply that she didn’t want to let go and feel. Hell, after all she’d been through, he could understand why. That was one thing he admired about her.  Katie didn’t take shit from anyone.

 “Is that so?” Butterflies slammed against her stomach as his hand continued to roam her body. For a moment she worried about Chad’s taking things too far, about not being what he needed in a woman. What if she wasn’t built to do what he wanted? He didn’t give her much time to think on that before slipping off her thong. Now she was completely naked with his hard body pressed against hers.

“Yes. Now, no talking, unless you’re screaming out my name. Until then, call me ‘Sir’.”

“What if I have a question or something is bothering me?”

“Address me as ‘Sir’ and we’ll deal with it. Are you ready?”

 Katie nodded. Nothing could happen to her, and if she needed it, she had a safe word. If she had to, she’d hold onto that reassurance with all her might and not hesitate to speak the safe word if things overwhelmed her. That was the whole point of having a safe word.

“I asked you a question.”

Drawing in her bottom lip, she grazed it with her teeth. “Yes, I’m ready.”

“Yes, what, Katie?” He stopped the caress just a whisper away from her breast. She desperately wanted him to touch her again. Arching towards him, she tried to bring her body into contact with his hand, but he moved.

“Yes, Sir. I’m ready.”

“Relax. Every time I touch you, I can feel you jump. No one’s going to hurt you here.”

Taking in a deep breath, she willed herself to relax, or at least try. Before, this was the point where she’d have trouble and start to pull back from her lover.

“Shouldn’t we lie down?”

“If I thought we needed to, then I’d have told you. Get in the middle of the bed and sit back on your heels.” He could almost see the wheels turning in her head, and for a moment, he wondered if she would use the safe word. Taking a breath, she moved to the bed and did as he had told her. Good girl. Chad climbed on the bed behind her. He palmed her ass, sending heat racing down her body. “Anyone ever take you back here?”

Oh God, not there! That shouldn’t turn her on even more. Chad’s body heat seeped into her back as he blanketed her with the hard muscles of his chest. His hand moved between her thighs.

“Don’t make me ask again. I’ll spank your ass next time.”

“Yes, but I don’t like it. It hurts.” She turned her head to glance at him. “No anal. I can’t do that. You can kiss your chance to fuck me away if you think you’re going to hit me.” Never again would she allow a man to hit her. Being that weak again wasn’t an option anymore.

Moisture seeped between her thighs at the erotic thought of  him smacking her, but no way would she tell him that it turned her on to have him do it. She’d read about it in her books, and it was never abusive. According to the books, it was always done in a safe manner, and brought the woman pleasure. There’d been times that she’d been so turned on after reading that she had to take care of things on her own. And she had no doubts that Chad would see to her pleasure in every way.

Hot excerpt!

Where can you be found:

I can be found on my website, blog, Facebook and on Twitter

Purchase Links: evernightpublishing.com

Remember folks, Bound to Protect is 15% off for the first two weeks through the Evernight website.

 

4 comments on “Spotlight on Alyssa Fox

  • Leave a Reply

