Spotlight and Giveaway with London Saint James!!!

Published March 20, 2012 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

London Saint James – Bio

London wrote her first short story in the second grade.  Her teacher informed her parents London had a big imagination, but having a big imagination wasn’t necessarily a good thing as far as he was concerned.  Without watering that seed of imagination, London placed her vivid characters, her childhood stories, along with her imagination on the shelf, where they would wither for a while.  At the urging of her eighth grade English teacher, London pulled her imagination off that shelf and wrote her second short story.  To no surprise, it was a love story which was inspired by a song.  With encouragement, London began to write once again.  She fell head over heels in love with writing, the power of words and the journey we all take when we read a great story.  Then as life does it moves on, so yet again London placed her imagination on the shelf to wither for a while.  She needed to do the “sensible thing.”

In doing the sensible thing London earned a degree in Psychology but Philosophy, History, Theology, English Literature, Politics, Art History, Economics and other similar studies contributed significantly to her education and continue to interest her.  While in college she traversed into writing once more, was encouraged by a couple of professors to peruse that endeavor and wrote.  In doing so, she lit that spark of imagination which she thought was long dead.  She was surprised to find people liked what she wrote but yet again life moved on and she did the sensible thing.  You see to follow her passion was a pipe-dream, or so she had been told by some, so she placed her imagination and her passion upon that old familiar shelf.  London has held some rewarding jobs, had a career which was sensible but found herself scribbling stories on scratch paper as an outlet.  So one day she said, “Enough of the sensible thing.” She pulled her imagination along with her laptop off the shelf, dusted them both off and began to seriously write.

London writes erotic romance, from sweet to downright naughty.  She is a member of the Romance Writers of America and Passionate Ink.  She currently resides in Colorado with her dogs, her books, her writing and her imagination.

 Welcome to my hot seat, London. 🙂

You have quite a few titles to your credit. Congratulations!

*Wiggles* in the hot seat. Thanks,Lorraine!

Your books are classified as Contemporary Romance and Erotic. Why are you drawn to this type of story?

I guess I’ve always been drawn to a great romance, not necessarily always contemporary. Something about two people falling in love and facing all the obstacles that life throws at you appeals to me.  While there are some great romance stories out there without the erotic element, and that’s fine, when it come to my own personal need, I want the erotic portion. I want the heat between the characters, so the draw to the erotic side, makes sense to me. 

Where do the ideas come from?

You know, I’m never really sure.  Some ideas just pop into my head (while doing dishes). LOL.  Some ideas come from a great song that hits me in that spot inside and makes me stop and think, and dream.  I have had ideas come from dreams (both good dreams and bad dreams). 

 What comes first, names of H/h, location or plot?

*Smiles* Well… sometimes the plot comes first.  Other times I have a location in mind.  Even other times the names have come first. 

Are you a plotter or pantser?

Pantser.  I may have some general ideas like mentioned above, names, locations, plots, etc… but I truly get the  idea and then write.  I’m not a note taker, or plotter at all.  I suppose I fly by the seat of my pants.  LOL

LOL! Sounds like me! 🙂

What is your typical writing day/night?

Willy-nilly! I write when I get the time, but it does seem that I write more late at night.

Do you ever have trouble getting into the ‘writing zone’?

I think it’s more like finding the time to get into the zone.  Time is never on my side!

My characters ‘speak’ to me as I write their story. Do yours? If so, what’s it like to have them breathing down your neck? 🙂

Yes.  My characters speak, throw tantrums, yell… *Giggles*  My characters are very much at the forefront of my writing. 

If you had to describe yourself, what three words best suit you? 🙂

Truthful.  Sassy.  Open-minded.

If someone else (other than your significant other) described you, what three words would they use? *evil grin*

Smart-ass.  Perky.  Caring.

Favorites:

Author? I can’t pick just one.  Sarah McCarty.  Sherrilyn Kenyon.  Lynsay Sands.  Rhyannon Byrd, Megan Hart, Victoria Dahl, Gena Showalter, Charlaine Harris, many fellow Evernight authors (including you my lovely Lorraine) and on and on.
Aw! So sweet! You are a favorite with me too. 🙂

Book? Ahh… again, can’t pick just one.

Car? Whatever gets me from point A to point B without being stuck on the side of the road.

Color? Blue

Desktop or Laptop? Laptop

Dessert? Anything chocolate 😀

Holiday? Christmas

Movie? Oh no.  Too hard to pick just one!

Pen or Pencil? Pen

Penis size? Oops! *Giggles* BIG! Is there any other size?

Shopping or Baking? Shopping

Vacation Spot? Somewhere on a beach!

Here inCanada, the changing seasons are beautiful. It’s been freezing cold here this winter, but beginning to warm up. What is your favorite season? Why?

I adore Spring.  All of the trees are turning green, others blooming bright with white and pink flowers.  All of the spring flowers are coming out in a rainbow of colors.  The chirping of birds in the trees.  Beautiful blue skies with white puffy clouds, and bright sunny days. 

Do you think you’ll try your hand at different genres in the future? If so, which ones?

Yes.  Currently I do have a finished erotic novel.  The working title: La Bonne Soeur (The Good Sister).  I need the time to go over it, polish it, edit it, etc…  I’m also working on a BDSM story for the naughty fairy tale line through Evernight. And I’m in collaboration with another author, working on a sci-fi series. 

What pearls of wisdom would you like to impart to aspiring writers?

Read.  Read.  And read some more.  Find your voice and writing style, and write about what you love, what you find inspiring.  Regardless of being published, write because you enjoy it. Allow your passion to show in your work.  Never give up or allow others to discourage you.  

 

Eternal, The Heart of Winter series, Book 4, is coming soon from Evernight. I love the cover!

Thanks! I love the cover too.

What prompted you to write this story? How long did it take?

Well, I had this idea about a girl who didn’t have time for men.  She had a skewed view of love due to her own parent’s horrible marriage.  As well she has a skewed view of herself.  We see her insecurities, her hopes, her heart, and her need to want to believe in love. 

The first book starts to tell Winter’s story when she’s in college.  She meets the perfect man when she wasn’t looking, and findsAustinto be what she never believed in— her soul mate.  The rest of the books take you on a journey of Winter’s life, loss, love, all told through her point of view.  There are some surprising twists along the way which takes this contemporary romantic series into more of a paranormal light. 

When I sat down to write Winter’s story, it just flowed, and kept on flowing.  I didn’t take long to write it.  So it ended up being one very LARGE book.  When I decided to submit my work to Evernight, I needed to break up the work, and it ended up a 4-book continuing series called The Heart Of Winter. 

Book 4, Eternal, completes Winter’s story.

So sad to see it end! Glad you have something else on the go though! 🙂

What characteristics/personality traits make your hero and heroine memorable?

I think their chemistry, their undeniable love for each other, and their willingness to do anything to protect each other.

Can you share the blurb?

Sure!  Here’s a blurb from Eternal:

Romance writer Winter Wells has found her new life with Hollywood Hottie, Cayden Cain, a blessing and a curse.  He is the blessing.  His career is the curse.  Involved in an unprecedented web of strange events, and wound in a string of lies about to break with devastating consequences, Winter must battle ghosts from her past that threaten to harm Cayden.  Faced with a choice she always knew would be inevitable, can the fairy tale of their relationship beat out the odds of their reality and really come true?

Excerpt?

Wednesday evening had arrived, and I was standing on the balcony of my bedroom when it started to rain. I lifted my chin to the heavens, toward the dark night sky, and the cold drops hit my face, cheeks, lips, and hair. It didn’t take long before I was soaking wet. The ivory long sleeve shirt I wore was plastered to me, and my jeans were beginning to soak through, but I didn’t care. All I could think about was Cayden. How could I ever live without him?

“Winter!”

In the distance of my mind, I heard Cayden’s voice calling out to me.

“What are you doing?” he asked. “Winter. It’s too cold. You are going to get sick.” Cayden’s arms encased me. He pulled me from the rain, into the warmth of the bedroom. He let loose of me and almost sprinted into the bathroom. I saw him pull one of the large fluffy white towels from the cabinet. He turned with a sense of urgency, and immediately came back to me. “What are you thinking?” Once he reached me, he unbuttoned my shirt, peeled it from my wet skin, and threw the soaked garment to the floor. Cayden whipped the towel out. It made a snapping sound before he wrapped the dry warm towel around me. “Winter, baby?”

Cayden stared at me. The expression upon his face, one of pain. He rubbed my arms with his hands as if the friction would warm the coldness I felt in my heart. It hit me. I wasn’t speaking.

“Sorry,” I said.

“Love, what were you doing standing in the cold rain?” He glanced down at my feet. “And you don’t have on any shoes.”

“I don’t know. I was just thinking. I guess I stopped paying attention.”

“Take those wet jeans off, too,” he instructed before he headed back into the bathroom for another towel.

I shed the jeans and left them in a wet lump in the middle of the floor.

“I love you,” I said when he came back.

He threw a new towel over my hair and started to rub it dry. “I love you, too. Tell me what is wrong?”

I placed my face to his chest, burying away my pain and taking in the scent of him. “Nothing is wrong.”

“Winter, tell me,” he pressed.

“Nothing, it’s nothing. I go a little crazy when you’re gone, but you are home now. We are together. That’s all that matters.”

“I have missed you,” he said. Cayden’s arms circled my waist and he picked me up from the floor. My feet dangled. “Do you know how much I hate to be away from you?”

“I know how much I hate being away from you.”

The towels fell to the carpet when I draped my arms around his strong neck and my legs around his perfectly tight waist, hooking my ankles behind his back. Cayden laughed his low musical laugh and brushed his nose into my hair. “I love how your hair smells. It’s like flowers and fruit, peaches.”

“I have missed you so much, Cayden.” I kissed him. It was a long time before I released him from my kiss.

Cayden’s eyes, silver-gray, flashed. “I think maybe you did miss me. But never bet it is as much as I have missed you,” he assured with his brilliant bright white smile.

I shivered. Whether from his eyes, words or touch I do not know, but probably from the combination of all of them.

“Cayden, make love to me.”

“You’re still cold,” he said. “Come on.” He carried me into the bathroom.

“I don’t care how cold I am. Please, make love to me.”

Cayden put me down. My bare feet felt the cool tiles beneath them. Cayden walked over to the stereo. He pulled back the glass wall panel and turned it on. He bent down, took off his black Adidas, and stripped off his socks. He placed them inside his shoes. With an underhanded toss, he threw the shoes out the bathroom door. They made a dull thud on the carpet in the other room when they landed.

There I stood. In the middle of the bathroom in my bra and panties, my hair tangled and wet, goose bumps covering my skin, mascara running down my cheeks, and probably looking pathetic, but I could not keep my eyes from Cayden. He turned on the steam and hot water in the shower. Placed his hands under the stream of water that was shooting down from overhead. He turned around, smiled tenderly, and closed the glass doors. The water hit the glass of the shower and mixed into the sound of the rain that pelted the roof. Everything melted into the music that played, becoming a symphony of rain.

“Please,” I said.

Cayden looked at me intently. He raked his penetrating gaze over my body. “I have every intention of making love to you, but I need to get you warm first.” His fingertips traced down my cheek, over the surface of my lips, down my throat then over my right shoulder. The warm water that was still on his hands trickled over the surface of my skin in every place he touched me. I trembled with his touch. Softly, he rubbed the mascara smudges from my cheeks.

“Cayden…,” I whispered.

“You are so utterly beautiful.” His lips skimmed over my shoulder, and his fingers made their way to the front of my bra. “I can’t believe how beautiful you are.” With dexterous skill, he unhooked the golden clasp, sending my bra sliding down the surface of my skin until it hit the tiled floor at my feet.

“Cayden, I need you,” I murmured against his chest.

“Baby,” he whispered against my neck. “You have me. You know I’m yours.”

Throwing myself into him, I wrapped my arms around his neck; my mouth frantically searched for his lips. We kissed with an aching in my soul. I wanted every part of Cayden to touch me. Needed to feel the exquisite sensation of his warm skin upon mine. Desperation surged through me. My hands slid down his shirt. Gripped it. Ripped the buttons free and exposed his flesh. The buttons bounced and tapped across the tiled floor. One pinged off the glass of the shower door. My anxious fingers explored the length of his stomach until I came to his jeans. I unbuttoned them, allowing my right hand to drift lower. Cayden was fevered and firm inside my hand.

Cayden picked me up again, his lips eager against mine, his mouth moving with my mouth as his breath, warm in my mouth, found its place. Cayden’s tongue tangled deeply with mine. He never let loose of my body, shedding his jeans by stepping on the bottom edge of his right pant leg, yanking his legs free.

“Cayden,” I moaned. I stroked his manhood. “I need you so much.”

“God,” he groaned.

Cayden fondled my waist, outlining the top of my panties with his fingers. He brushed so lightly over the canvas of my skin that it sent shivers over my entire body. His hand rested for a moment on my hip before tucking fingers into the top of my waistband. Cayden grabbed the material firmly.

“Do it,” I said, placing my mouth to his.

Where can you be found:

My Authors Pages and Purchase links:

http://www.evernightpublishing.com/pages/London-Saint-James.html

http://www.amazon.com/London-Saint-James/e/B005I7KJWY/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/london-saint-james

http://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html?searchBy=author&qString=London+Saint+James

http://www.bookstrand.com/london-saint-james

http://1placeforromance.com/index.php?searchMe=London+Saint+James&column=author&_a=viewCat

http://www.manicreaders.com/LondonSaintJames/

http://www.theromancereviews.com/mypageprofile.php?location=London

http://www.thetalentcave.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=40&itemid=4

Website: http://www.londonsaintjames.com

Blog: http://londonsj.blogspot.com

Email: London@londonsaintjames.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/LSJRomance

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LSaintJamesRomance

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/lsjromance

London is graciously giving away a free copy to one lucky commenter. Don’t forget to include your email address! Best of luck!

8 comments on “Spotlight and Giveaway with London Saint James!!!

  • Wow.. I’ve never really read about a story that started as one, but went on to become 4 books 🙂 It sounds utterly intriguing!

    Lovely questions, Lorraine and great knowing so much about you, London! Wishing you all the best for this story release!

  • Leave a Reply

