Spotlight on Avril Ashton!!!

Published March 29, 2012 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Please welcome another Evernight author as we celebrate her newest release.

Avril Ashton – Bio

l always wanted to have a sexy bio, one to reflect who I am, but after drawing a blank, l could only come up with: I eat cake and I read books…ooh, and I write ‘em too. No one liked it and after massive peer-pressure and pouting, I managed something more…suitable?

A Caribbean transplant, Avril now lives in Brooklyn, N.Y. with a tolerant Spousal Equivalent. Together they raise an eccentric daughter who loves reading and school (not so much school anymore). Avril’s earliest memories of reading revolve around discussing plot points of The Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys with an equally book-minded mother.

Hey! The Hardy Boys were a favorite of mine too! 🙂

Always in love with the written word, Avril finally decided to do the writing in August of ’09 and never looked back. Spicy love scenes, delicious heroes, and wicked women burn up the pages of Avril’s stories, but there’ll always be a happy ending; Av remains a believer of love in all its forms.

Welcome, Avril!

What decided you on writing?

Thanks for hosting me today, Lorraine!  You’re very welcome!

I decided on writing when I was reading a book and found myself bawling. LOL I wanted to make someone else have that same visceral reaction. But before that, I’d already found my head filled with voices incredibly hard to ignore.

Your books are classified in several genres…Paranormal, Shifters/Vampires, and Erotic. Why are you drawn to this type of story?

Those are my favorite genres. I just love them and it translates that what I love to read is what I’d love to write.

Where do the ideas come from?

Mostly from songs. I can’t function without music, so it sparks ideas, titles, phrases, and everything else.

What comes first, names of H/h, location or plot?

Location is the last thing for me. Plot and characters are right up there with each other, characters more so since they influence my plots. Then, after all is settled, I look for the best location to bolster the story.

Are you a plotter or pantser?

Pantser. My stories are completely character driven, so attempting to plot anything out is really just an exercise in madness.

What is your typical writing day/night?

Mornings are really when I pound out the words, after the kid and Mr. A have left for school and work. I write from 7:30 am until midday which takes me to about 3k words or a chapter. That’s it for the day, although at times I’ll go back at it after they’ve been put to bed.

Do you ever have trouble getting into the ‘writing zone’?

Nope. I take a sip of coffee, crank up my music and re-read the last chapter I wrote. S’all good.

My characters ‘speak’ to me as I write their story. Do yours? If so, what’s it like to have a vampire breathing down your neck?

🙂 LMAO! No doubt that would be a tad…disconcerting. My characters do speak to me, though mostly it’s me yelling at them for acting like jerks and or making me cry.

LOL!

If you had to describe yourself, what three words best suit you?

🙂 Only three? This could take a while. I’m vulgar. Bitchy. And not at all scary.

If someone else described you, what three words would they use? *evil grin*

Quiet. Quiet. Quiet.

 Favorites:

Author? Can’t name one.

Book? Can’t name one, woman. Damn!

Car? Anything not white

Color? Red

Desktop or Laptop? Laptop

Dessert? CAKE!!

Holiday? Eh any one I guess. Don’t really care.

Movie? Toss up between Pretty Woman, The Notebook, and The Fifth Element…Lilu Dallas. Heh

Pen or Pencil? Pen

Penis size? Oops! LOLOL Thick and long, curved to the left. LOL!

Shopping or Baking? Jeezus. NONE

Vacation Spot? The Poconos

Do you think you’ll try your hand at different genres in the future? If so, which ones?

 I’m pretty much settled on what all I’ll be dabbling in within the romance genre, although I’d love to try a Post Apocalyptic M/M romance. Would be ahmazing!

What pearls of wisdom would you like to impart to aspiring writers?

Research. Write because you love it, because you can’t breathe until you do. Reach out to others. Research.

Far From the Usual is your newest release from Evernight Publishing. I love the cover! Does it have special meaning to the book?

Thanks, but not really. I just allow the awesome cover artists free reign and they never disappoint.

What prompted you to write this story? How long did it take?

I was doing dishes and the story idea just sort of popped up. A woman in love with her ex’s twin brother. Drama galore. It took me two weeks to churn out. Two weeks! Spectacular!

What characteristics/personality traits make your hero and heroine memorable?

LOL I think you’ll find them both strong and stubborn. Set in their ways. They’re also funny and down for whatever.

Can you share the blurb?

Sure!

He’s her ex’s brother, yet Arden Windham aches to be in Cam Mercer’s arms. The man is rude and obnoxious, his blue eyes cold and unfeeling, but he makes her body melt. Being with ex-con Camis is nowhere in her plans, not if she wants the affection she’s worked so hard to gain from her overbearing father. Still, Cam’s touch is unlike anything she’s ever felt and Arden finds herself having to choose between her wants and her needs.

Cameron Mercer is his family’s black sheep, a man apart. For six months he watched Arden waste her time with his twin and now she’s free, he’s not waiting another minute. He’s on a campaign to get her off the tight rope she’s been walking. There’s a rebel behind that smooth façade and he’s on a mission to set Arden free. Too bad she insists on putting up a fight.

Excerpt?

You know it 😀

Arden held herself upright with her hip propped against her car as she waited for Indy to come out from the bar. Cam left her standing in the darkness, getting into his truck and driving off while she struggled to accept the ramifications of what she’d done.

She promised her father she’d be on her best behavior and this so wasn’t it. He’d have a coronary if he ever found out about this. Let’s not forget, too, that Cam was Clark’s brother.

Brothers.

She tugged on the ends of her hair and shifted her weight from one foot to the other. The crotch of her thong was soaked through; her flesh felt swollen and extra sensitive. She needed Cam in the worst way and she just knew she’d end up doing all kinds of things she’d regret before the night was through.

“Hey.”

She looked up as Indy approached.

“Are you okay?” Indy eyed her up and down. “Did you get busy?”

Indy had been after her to make a move on Cam, pointedly ignoring Arden’s plea to go somewhere when she spotted his truck in the parking lot earlier.

“We didn’t.” She shook her head and got into the car. Buckling herself in, she laid her head back and sighed. “I’m fucked.”

Indy grunted as she got into the driver’s seat. “Not yet, you aren’t.”

“He’s not part of the plan, Indy.” She stared out the window. “No drama. The Mayor’s daughter can’t be caught fucking an ex-con.”

“So don’t get caught.” Indy touched her shoulder. “Look, have you questioned why your father put you on all these weird restrictions? Ever since you came here, you’ve been all uptight and buttoned up. Being the quiet, unassuming daughter isn’t your shtick.”

“But it has to be.” She’d been away from her father for far too long, she couldn’t bear to be apart anymore. “It’s been years since I’ve been in the same state as my dad. He asked me not to embarrass him, not to cause any scandals, and I refuse to.”

Indy frowned. “You and Cam getting your freak on isn’t the same as what happened with Justin. You didn’t know he was a scumbag drug dealer.”

Arden snorted. She always felt like such a fool when reminded of the man she’d loved, who she thought loved her. Turned out Justin was one of the biggest drug dealers on their New York college campus. Everyone knew, except her. And she’d been the fool who had to call her father up to be bailed out of jail for a crime she’d never even thought to commit. 

“Cam.” She whispered his name. “He doesn’t even like me, he told me that. But I—”

“But you’d like to know what it feels like to have him blow your back out.”

Arden laughed. Indy had a way with words. “He would.”

“Yeah.”

They sat in silence, the possibilities swirling in her head.

“He’s Clark’s brother.”

“Clark’s your ex,” Indy reminded her. “And let’s face it, golden boy wasn’t always up on his game, was he?”

Arden had no complaints regarding sex withClark; he’d been a generous lover. Never left her hanging, but didn’t have her swinging from the chandeliers, either. Their bedroom exploits had taken a hit the weeks leading up their break-up since he’d started working late hours on a new project.

He’d begun sleeping around and she hadn’t called him on it, she simply cut him off. Their relationship had been smooth sailing up to that point. No arguments and no big declarations of love. She’d cared about him in the beginning, liked that he was a good guy with a legit job and low-key personality. He didn’t demand anything she hadn’t been willing to give and maybe she’d been a fool in assuming that was what it took to build a life together.

She folded her hands in her lap. “Drive.”

Where to next on your blog tour?

I’m promoing my latest release with Evernight, Make Me Burn, here and there. I’m still finalizing details so keep up with me on Facebook and Twitter.    

Where can you be found: 

Visit:

http://www.avrilashton.webs.com

http://www.avril-ashton.blogspot.com

Friend Avril on:

http://www.facebook.com/writeravrilashton

http://www.twitter.com/#!/AvrilAsh

Purchase Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Far-from-the-Usual-ebook/dp/B007KDARYO/ref=sr_1_8?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1331810454&sr=1-8

Evernight: http://www.evernightpublishing.com/far-from-the-usual-by-avril-ashton/

AllRomance: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-farfromtheusual-753065-149.html

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/far-from-the-usual

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/142390

 

5 comments on “Spotlight on Avril Ashton!!!

  • Leave a Reply

