Guest Post with Angelina Rain

Published August 20, 2012 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Angelina Rain, fellow author and dear friend, is visiting with me today and explaining her process in becoming a published author. So, refill that coffee mug and sit a spell. Welcome, to my blog, Angelina! 🙂

The Book That Almost Never Happened

Have you ever wanted to be a published author? Publishing has been my dream for a long time, so when I sat down to pen my first novel, I did my research. Most authors… Scratch that… All authors get tons of rejections, spend ages searching for agents, and usually don’t see their name in print until years after they pen their first novel. I didn’t want that for myself so I decided to e-publish. It’s smaller money but faster results.

So with that in mind, I sat and I wrote. Once the novel was finished, and after I did my few rounds of self edits, the unthinkable happened. It is one of the worst things to ever happen to a writer. My computer died, and my book was buried inside it.

I took the hard drive to a few techs, trying to see if they could possibly extract the file. Some failed, while some wanted outrageous amounts of money for the service. I was lost, and knew that this book would never see the light of day.

But then, my mom introduced me to a friend of hers who is a computer tech. It took him a lot of work, as the hard drive itself no longer worked, but he managed to pull the file and save it on a disk. I finally had my book back (and a completely fixed computer too with new hard drive).  However, my troubles with this book weren’t over.

I submitted this book to seven publishers all on the same night and said yes to the first contract offer I received which happened on the following day. My dream had come true, except it was shaping up to be a nightmare.

This publisher was small, and didn’t have the resources to stay in business. After spending months on edits, the publisher closed and my rights were returned back to me. So there I was again, trying to sell a book when a part of me started saying that maybe it was a sign this book shouldn’t be published. But I submitted, and got it published again.

Two years after writing Rescued Love, I am happy to share this novella with you!

BLURB:

Can the doctor, who made a life out of helping animals, heal a human?

One by one, household dogs disappear only to come back after senseless abuse. Veterinarian Jordan Powell will stop at nothing to ensure her patients’ safety. Even if that means seeking help from ex-boyfriend, police officer, Nate Thrillson, the man whose heart she once broke.

The last thing Nate wants is a relationship. He has an inoperable cancerous tumor in his brain and his days are numbered. Yet, he couldn’t resist Jordan.

It’s a race against time to save the dogs and the man who captured her heart. Can the doctor, who made a life out of helping animals, heal a human?

BUY LINK:

http://www.breathlesspress.com/index.php?main_page=product_free_shipping_info&products_id=297

Angelina’s site: http://www.angelina-rain.com

Thank you for sharing this with us today, Angelina. It sounds like a terrific read. Best of luck! 🙂

16 comments on “Guest Post with Angelina Rain

  • Great post! It’s a tale in perseverance! I really felt for you Angela, when you said your computer died…with the story lost! But that’s amazing that you were able to get it back!! Congratulations on your novella!

  • I’m happy to hear you were able to rescue the file Angelina. I would be devastated if something I put so much of myself into was lost. This sounds so intriguing! Looking forward to reading it!

  • Leave a Reply

