Writing ups and downs

Published January 18, 2013 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Wow! The New Year has started off with a bang. So far, I’ve received two rejections, one revise and resub, and one acceptance. It sure keeps you on your toes. LOL

I’ve learned the hard way that what doesn’t work for one publisher can and will work for another. Luckily, perseverance is one of my strong points. 🙂 One says too much dialogue, another says not enough. One says my hero is too strong, another says he’s not strong enough. You know what I say? I write what I write the way it feels right to me. Give me a contract and an editor to work with, and I just might see things your way.

It’s not that I’m hard to get along with. Those who know me tell me I’m easy…to work with at least. 🙂 But when you put your heart and soul into a novel, it’s difficult to make changes. Now this revise and resub is from Harlequin American. The editor gave me some great feedback to work with, info specific to my novel, Suited to be a Cowboy, not a general “this _?__ doesn’t work for me” type of thing. So yes, I’m working furiously to ‘get it right.’ This is the closest I’ve gotten to being published with them, and you can bet your bottom dollar that I’ll make this story the best I can.

At the same time, I’m working on Cameron’s Quest, Book 5 in my Thunder Creek Ranch series. I know. It’s late. But Cam has been giving me a bit of a problem and I’ve had to set it aside several times to fulfill other obligations. LOL Add to Cam’s story a fiery Irish redhead, well, sparks fly and life does get interesting. This is a story of second chances, of a lost love found, family values, bonding…and murder. Anyone who’s visited Thunder Creek is aware of the Manning family and how protective they are of those they love. Cam’s story is the same in that respect, but oh, so very different.

My Nano project for 2011 was Benjamin, the first in my Hudson Ranch Trilogy for which my sister, Sharon Wilson-Dupuis, is drawing the covers. That’s right, folks. I Hudson Coverwill have superb, original covert art for my Hudson boys. Here’s a quick mock-up we did to give you an idea. See the minute detail she puts into her work? I couldn’t draw a straight line with a ruler glued to the page, but then, she doesn’t have the imagination I do for crafting stories either. It’s a win, win situation for both of us and something we’ve always said we would do from the time we were kids.

Now, I have a question for you…

All right, 2 questions…

The Hudson brothers, Benjamin, Gabriel, and Nathan, inherit a ranch from their estranged father. Would you be interested in hearing the father’s tale? Would you like to know up front exactly why Zackariah Hudson finally located his sons? The trilogy novels (as ebooks) will be priced at $3.99 each or thereabouts, according to word count, but Zackariah’s story would be a prologue of sorts, which we would release first. It would be of novella length, 5-10,000 words, and available in ebook form for 99 cents. We will also be releasing the Hudson Ranch series in print. The original cover art alone makes them keepers, but I’m hoping you’ll enjoy these stories of romantic suspense enough to want to read them again and again. 🙂

***Tentatively scheduled for Spring, 2013.***

So again, here are my questions…

Would you be interested in hearing the father’s tale?

Would you like to know up front exactly why and how Zackariah Hudson finally located his sons?

LN_Love on the Rocks_200x300

A copy of Love on the Rocks is up for grabs to one lucky commenter.

For info on this or any of my other titles, please visit my website at: http://lorrainenelson.weebly.com

Winner will be announced on January 25th.

Best of luck in the draw!

And a belated Happy New Year! to all. Hope it brings you oodles of love, happiness, good health, and prosperity.

              Lorraine
4 comments on “Writing ups and downs

  • Leave a Reply

