Happy New Year!

Published December 31, 2013 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Cowboy for 2011

Yep, I sure love those hunky cowboys. 🙂

Another year has come and gone. It seems like the older I get, the faster time passes. My kids are getting older. My grandkids are getting older. And, alas, so am I. LOL

2013 has been a good year in many ways. I have my home and my family near, several close friends, and have made many new friends through social media. Through Facebook, I made contact with one of my best friends from high school who I hadn’t seen in over 35 years. She lives approximately three hours away and drove through one of the season’s worst snowstorms to visit. It was great to see her, to reminisce, and catch up. What a joy she is!

Despite cataract surgery and other health-related and personal issues this past year, I was able to release eight new titles, bringing my total to 22 books available. Three of those are short stories included in anthologies, but the rest are all mine. And this past year my sister, Sharon Wilson-Dupuis, and I realized a dream we’ve had since childhood. We always said that one day we’d be author and illustrator. Well, I wrote the books and she drew the covers for my new western series, The Hudson Ranch. The final book, Nathan, will release in January. You can see all my books listed with blurbs, excerpts, and reviews on my website: http://lorrainenelson.weebly.com

I sometimes bemoan my health problems, but because of them, I have the time to write, a hobby which I enjoy immensely. To know that you are reading my work, enjoying it, and asking for more, inspires me to keep going–to concoct another tale of romance. You all mean so much to me. Without you, my writing would have less meaning. Of course, my family would still read my stuff, but that doesn’t give my work the same validity. 🙂

In appreciation, I’m giving away an autographed print copy of Zakia and the Cowboy to one lucky commenter. Just share with me the highlights of your 2013 or your plans for 2014. Don’t forget to leave your email address so I can contact you. 🙂 Winner will be announced on Friday, January 10th.

I wish all of you the Happiest New Year possible. Take care of yourself and stay safe. Love you all!

image0011

5 comments on “Happy New Year!

  • Hi Lorraine; I’m so pleased to hear you’re succeeding in your passion.
    I can’t wait to read the newest book, talk soon;
    Anna Geddes-McCuaig

  • Happy New Year, girl! You totally rock…Especially being able to release books so consistently in spite of health issues deserves a salut!

    I hope your books sell tons this year 🙂 and that readers love your work as much as I do…

  • Leave a Reply

