Spotlight on Author, Angela Brown!

Published October 4, 2014 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Angela Brown is soon to be another Evernight author. In fact, she’s signed a contract with Evernight Teen for her upcoming young adult novel, Beacon. The following is her writing journey.

My Journey of Twists, Turns and Jigs

I would love to say that my journey as an author has been easy skips from one stepping stone to another. Besides being a little boring, it would be a lie. All lies, I tell you!

Ahem, back to what I was saying before that last bit of drama, my journey has been one filled with highs and lows, complications, and moments of sweet memories.

As a kid enamored with reading, I didn’t allow myself to believe that I could make a living writing. It seemed like such a distant, untouchable thing reserved for the likes of Stephen King, Judy Blume, and Alice Walker.

Not some nerdy, four-eyed kid growing in a housing project of Little Rock, AR.

I went to college so I could get a real job, you know, sit in a cubicle until I could work my way up to a corner office, maybe even buy my mom a new home. But life, as it often does, had other things in store. Losing my mother to heart disease dropped the bottom from beneath my feet and it was returning to reading and writing that I got my bearings, even a bit of gumption to believe I could actually write something worth sharing with the world.

After a few fitful starts and stops, including an ill-fated-by-life traipse into self-publishing through Authorhouse, I finally found some writing pleasure in self-publishing for myself through the various e-distributions open to me.

As much as I enjoy the process of taking a new shiny idea from concept to production, I still wanted to have one or more of my stories published through the query process. For some, it’s validation. For me, it’s the joy of a new experience. I’d seen lots of wonderful books being published by Evernight Teen, authors I respected and knew were uber talented. But could I be among them?

After a brief conversation with an author I trust who published through Evernight Teen, I figured the worse that could happen would be this, “Hey there, Angela. Thanks for thinking of us, but your book isn’t right for us. Good luck.”

In the days and weeks that passed after e-mailing my submission, doubt pricked at the fringes of my mind. I battled back by diving into my reading and writing again. When I least expected it, I got that e-mail, the one with the offer from Evernight Teen to publish my novel, BEACON, a YA urban fantasy dystopian. There are no videos of me dancing a jig after reading the good news – I think I confiscated them all – but jigging happened.

I’m excited about this new chapter in my author journey and look forward to the new friends and readers I get to meet along the way. I also encourage anyone straddling the fence to take a chance, leap out on faith. You never know unless you try, and there may be happy jigging because of it.

About Angela BrownAngela B 2012 Ferrell Photography

Born and raised in Little Rock, AR, Angela Brown now calls Central Texas home. She’s a lover of Wild Cherry Pepsi and chocolate/chocolate covered delicious-ness. Steampunk, fantasy and paranormal to contemporary – mostly young adult – fill her growing library of books. Mother to a rambunctious darling girl aptly nicknamed Chipmunk, life stays busy. She’s authored Neverlove and They All Fall Down as well as short novellas Atone and Frailties of the Bond, all paranormal or urban fantasy tales with action and romance elements woven within the pages. Coming soon from Evernight Teen is her YA urban fantasy dystopian, BEACON. Her favorite quote keeps her moving: “You may never know what results come of your action, but if you do nothing there will be no result.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

My haunts: Angela Brown in Pursuit of Publishness | Facebook | Twitter

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about Angela. Watch for her new release, Beacon, coming soon from Evernight Teen.

6 comments on “Spotlight on Author, Angela Brown!

  • Leave a Reply

