Happy New Year…a few days late. :)

Published January 7, 2016 by Lorraine Nelson - Author

Cowboy for 2011I can’t believe we’re almost into the second week of 2016! Time seems to fly right by me lately. In some ways, that’s a good thing. In others…not so much. It is my sincere wish that you all have had a happy holiday. Whether you celebrate Christmas or not, this is a very precious season filled with love, sharing, and giving…not to mention the food. I haven’t yet dared step on the scale. It’s bad enough knowing that my pants fit tighter, so let’s just not go there. 🙂

I didn’t make any resolutions this year…never stick to them anyway. lol

This year I’d like to start off by telling you a bit about the writing of each of my books. I currently have 30 titles available and the inspiration for each one is unique. But first, I thought I might interest you in my writing journey. This is a post I wrote quite a while ago, but the truths haven’t changed and I’ve updated it for posting today. Here goes…

Writing – my passion, my dream.

I started writing adult fiction as a hobby in 2009 while on medical leave for hand surgery. I’d developed an infection in my thumb that ate the bone from the inside. Imagine my surprise when I pulled a hangnail on the sore and swollen thumb and out came a stream of pus which included slivers of bone. I still shudder to think of it. The plastic surgeon tried to save it, God bless her, but the bone was too far gone, so she amputated my left thumb.

That was in October, 2008, and by the end of January it was pretty much healed and I looked forward to returning to work. With the aim of gaining more flexibility in that hand, I began doing typing tests and such. Easily bored, an idea came to mind and I just sat at the computer and started writing. When I finished that first manuscript seven weeks later, I was thrilled! Then came the process of editing, tweaking, and polishing until I felt it was ready to send.

Boy, was I wrong!!!

Needless to say, I’ve suffered through my share of rejections, but instead of giving up, they made me more determined to succeed. I’ve joined several writing groups and forums and have made many online friends, people who have been supportive and encouraging throughout this journey. By nature, writing is a lonely hobby, so it helps to have people with whom you can share and do a little brainstorming. Except when the characters start talking to me. LOL That’s when I can immerse myself in the tale and write for hours on end, crafting their story their way.

With feedback received, I discovered where my writing lacked substance, studied those areas, kept writing, revising and submitting. I’ve entered contests and pitches, even won a couple, but publication still evaded me…until July, 2011, when perseverance paid off.

It wasn’t a call that came, per se, but an email. Evernight Publishing wanted my book. So, by receiving an email notification I didn’t have to stutter excitedly through a phone call and embarrass myself, but without speaking directly to someone on the publishing end, it didn’t really feel real – until I opened another email that Sunday night and saw my cover for Zakia and the Cowboy. Squee! It was fantastic!

I’d been waiting on the edits/revisions to come in and wasn’t expecting to see any cover art, especially at 11:30 pm on a Sunday night. My surprise was immediate and vocal. My son came running, alarmed, but smiled when he saw the cover. Everything had happened so fast!

ZATC_SM

Now Available in Print!!!

On July 17th, 2011, I submitted my manuscript to Evernight. On the 18th I received the contract, signed and returned it on the 20th and on the 25th, received the cover. No matter how you look at it, this team is super efficient. Marketing and promotion commenced with the release of the cover and my debut novel, Zakia and the Cowboy, was released on October 5th. It became a Featured Title at All Romance Ebooks and appeared on two of their bestseller lists…cowboy/western and mystery/suspense. Zakia and the Cowboy also won December’s Book of the Month at The To Be Read Pile review site in 2011. Quite an honor for a newbie.

I am still happy to be an Evernight Author and am currently working on the 8th book in my Thunder Creek Ranch series, Return to Thunder Creek, featuring Jack Grayson.

Last year two of my publishers went belly up and I received the rights back for five books. Did it disappoint me? Set me back? Not in the least! I paid for the covers and self-published all five novels in ebook and in print form. I sold more in the first month than I had in the years they were traditionally pubbed. Go figure.

Needless to say, this has been an exciting journey filled with learning curves at every turn. The feedback I’ve received from readers and reviewers has been awesome and keeps me motivated to just keep writing.

It’s been a pleasure to share my story with you. I hope this serves as inspiration to other writers to just keep learning, writing, and submitting; and, for my readers, this provides a little “behind the scenes” info. Thank you all for becoming a part of my life. Love you!

If you’re interested in blurbs, excerpts, and reviews of my work, please visit my website. You’ll find everything you need at the one stop. (If not, let me know so I can fix it.) http://lorrainenelson.weebly.com

May you find good health, hope, and happiness in the new year. But most of all, I wish you love. Bless you all!

 

Leave a Reply

